Multicharts observations and multi-monitor support

@Mod-MattZ asked that I share my thoughts/rant about my recent evaluation of Multicharts and its approach to supporting multi-monitors.

First I will share a couple of things about me that may color my view on trading software in general. I’ve been trading off and on for about 20 years. I’ve used a lot of different trading software in that time as I tend to switch frequently. I have also worked in the software development field for about 25 years. I tend to have a high standard for software in general and seem to have a knack for finding bugs as is often joked about among my peers. I’ve spent a fair amount of time trying to develop profitable auto trading systems through the years. I also find that most desktop software available for day traders is extremely dated and rates very poorly when you start considering user interface design. I’d love to have the resources and opportunity to change this. That said…

I recently took a look at Multicharts as I am in a bit of flux with a couple of platforms and thought I would see how it had evolved. I used it for a period of time that was probably about 8 or so years ago.

Overall I was underwhelmed by the latest version of Multicharts.Net. I did not find that it had changed much, if at all in the past 8 years other than the addition of the .Net platform. Look and feel seemed to be the same as I remembered from the past.

One thing that I did find rather surprising, and I don’t know if this is just a .Net platform thing, or if it applies to both platforms, but in order to run on multiple monitors, you must open a new workspace for each monitor. That doesn’t sound like that big of a deal until you realize that it appears to be a completely separate process, using separate computing resources for each monitor. In my world, that is a bloody hack and not something I would expect from a software package that over $1000.00.