Strategies/Methods for a New Futures Trader

Hello,
I am very new to trading. I opened an account with an online broker and got into investing earlier this year like many others. I initially just purchased stocks but became very interested in futures as I learned more about them. So, I started trading some through my online broker. Looking for a podcast I stumbled upon Optimus and was very happy to discover there were other brokers out there that has lower fees as well as to see the CEO be so interested in his customer’s success.

I initially had some success through pure, dumb luck and jumping on the large swings at the beginning and end of trading sessions and was up quite a bit. Once I started trading through Optimus Flow I really tanked though. Not the platform’s fault. I was overthinking it and looking back I was trading on too small of a time frame. I was missing the bigger picture. At some point last week I got down to a point where I haven’t been able to trade through Optimus due to low available margin.

Sorry to ramble but I wanted to provide a little bit of history to my experience level and where I am now. My main questions are these.

1. I keep hearing about strategies/methods but I guess I am struggling to find them clearing defined? I have dabble with the basic trend posted on the blog the other day and had more success today after expanding to look at the hourly time frames. What other strategies or methods are good for a novice to try out?

2. I really struggle with entry and exits. I know this is probably a pretty broad statement that applies to many traders but are there any general rules people like to follow?

I apologize if I am asking repetitive questions but I have looked through the forum and haven’t necessarily seen answer to the specific questions.

Thanks,
Wade

2 Likes