Switching from Micro Futures to Emini Futures

Hey Matt Z!

I found the community through the podcast and wanted to say thank you for creating and posting them! I’m thoroughly enjoying binging through them.

I am a beginner (3 months) trader currently day trading the Micro ES.

I was curious as to your thoughts on how to approach the idea of switching from the Micro to the Mini and how you would suggest to analyze a trader’s “mental readiness” to step up “10x” by switching between these markets.

Do you feel that it would be a good approach to slowly scale up contract size in the Micro with 10 contracts, then once consistent and comfortable at that level; transition to the Mini with 1 contract? Therefore keeping risk/reward even for the transition…

Looking forward to your thoughts,

Jakob

1 Like

Hi Jakob,

Thank you for your question, and welcome to the Optimus Community. So here is my perspective in general, every Futures trader should develop their risk tolerance which reflects in the number of contracts you trade. So you don’t always need to feel that you must increase the number of contracts to gain in the marketplace. You have to find what is ideal for you.

In that regard, you have to see over time whether you need to move from the Micro Futures to the larger Emini.

A good approach would be to scale up slowly and see how the leverage and size affect your behavior. Then, as you add, you should, in my opinion, trade that size for quite some time to experience all volatility types or as much as possible. You may discover that you can trade as much as 10 Micro Futures or not. Wherever you land, it’s ok, because it fits you.

It is better to be consistent than increase contracts that entail more considerable risk.

The last variable to consider is scaling, where you can use a smaller number of contracts to scale in and out where one larger Emini may not allow you to do it.

Consider using a trading journal like the one we use with our platform here.

Thanks,