The importance of language and the words we use

I believe that changing the words we use when thinking about or discussing our trading could have a big impact on psychology and performance. The language we use shapes the way we think, and may even determine our actions. For an introduction to this concept, here is a good TED talk on the topic: How language shapes the way we think | Lera Boroditsky | TED.

I’ve been a computer programmer for 30+ years, and I’ve seen how the success or failure of a computer program can come down to the names given to describe the different parts of the program. In technical terms, the names given to the various functions, data structures and classes are known as the API (Application Programming Interface).

I’m currently writing journaling software and I’ve got to the part where I need to code a ‘trade’. For example, Buy 1 @ $50, Sell 1 @ $52 would be a trade. Similarly, Buy 1 @ $50, Buy 1 @ $52, Buy 1 @ $54, Sell 3 @ $56 would also be a trade.

I had to decide if “Trade” was the right word to use to describe the process of buying and selling. I came to the conclusion that No, “Trade” is the wrong word and would cause confusion.

“Trade” is already used to mean a single transaction between two parties. For example, if you watch the Time and Sales, each entry is a “Trade” consisting of time, volume and price. It would be confusing to reuse the term “Trade” to also represent the process of buying and selling.

However, when I talk to other traders, I’ll call the process a Trade. For example, I’ll say “Look at this trade, I just made 100 ticks”. Or, to the wife, “I can’t do [insert chore here], I’ve just got into a trade”.